When your content is cataloged in an eXie frame, eXie is pointing to the locations where your content is already stored, and pointing at whatever security you have already established for it. This means that while eXie is used to expose the content inside those locations, what actually comes out is an effect largely controlled aside from using eXie.
Because eXie does not make any attempt to ignore or change the security already established at the item’s storage location, there are just two things to remember about how your catalog permits access to the content.
First, use an eXie frame to make a catalog that publishes only what you want a user to access. That also means you should decide what kind of user you are inviting to use the catalog that you made. Remember, the “next user” may be yourself.
Second, remember that a user other than yourself may not have the same access rights that you do to a content item. It is possible for another user to have more rights than yourself, or less. As a result, in a catalog that you saved and made available, it is possible for people to see items that they cannot use, or see items that they may be able to affect in ways that you yourself cannot.
To be sure that a user will not have their expectations frustrated, your role in making a catalog available is to validate, ahead of time, what is necessary for a person to use an item in the catalog.
You have three things that you can do about the content ahead of time.
One is to have a particular version of the content that is intended to be used in a certain way. Make sure that everything showing in the same catalog is in a version that can be used in the same way.
A second control is to share a frame only with a particular group of users that is known to have necessary access to whatever is in the catalog. No eXie catalog is shared by default because it is controlled by an individual user account. However, multiple users can form a group within which any member’s catalogs can easily be shared with everyone else in the group.
A third control is to set timers on when content will be available in the catalog. If a content item has an expiration timestamp and reaches that point in time, the catalog will prevent the item from being accessed through the catalog even if it shows in the catalog. Setting expirations effectively filters access to content items but it does not necessarily hide them. Expirations can be applied and removed any number of times.